[adrotate group="1"]
Home / Rubgy - Local / Wasps team to face Newcastle Falcons
download (10)

Wasps team to face Newcastle Falcons

Wasps have named their side to face Newcastle Falcons in the opening round of the Anglo Welsh Cup, at the Ricoh Arena this Saturday, kick off 3pm.

James Gaskell is named as captain of a side that features a mix of regular first team players and members of the Wasps Academy.

Rob Miller starts at fly half, combining with Craig Hampson at scrum half, while Juan de Jongh and Brendan Macken join up in the centres.

Guy Armitage returns from injury to start on the left wing, with Wasps Academy players Owain James and Aaron O’Sullivan at fullback and on the right wing respectively.

Up front, Ben Harris starts at loosehead, with Marty Moore on the tighthead side and Wasps Academy’s Gabriel Oghre at hooker, with Marcus Garratt combining with captain James Gaskell in the second row.

James Haskell starts on the openside flank, joined by brothers Jack and Tom Willis, who are set to start together for the first time in black and gold.

Paul Doran-Jones returns from injury to take a spot on the bench, where Wasps Academy players Antonio TJ Harris, Will Stuart, James Seabrook, Will Porter, Connor Eastgate and Jacob Umaga are also included. Guy Borrowdale is also named among the replacements, on loan from Rotherham Titans, having featured regularly in the Wasps’ A League campaign.

Ahead of the game, Wasps’ Director of Rugby Dai Young said: “Most clubs will use the Anglo-Welsh tournament to blood some of the young talent they have, as will we, but there is always a sprinkling of experienced first team players as well, who need game-time or who are working their way back from injury.

“This is a good competition for players coming through to compete in. I think our young players have shown they are more than capable of making the step-up, so we really look forward to watching these players play on a regular basis.  It’s a big opportunity for some of those guys to impress this weekend and we are looking forward to what will undoubtedly be another really tough contest against Newcastle Falcons.”

Wasps team to play Newcastle Falcons

  1. Owain James
  2. Aaron O’Sullivan
  3. Brendan Macken
  4. Juan de Jongh
  5. Guy Armitage
  6. Rob Miller
  7. Craig Hampson
  8. Ben Harris
  9. Gabriel Oghre
  10. Marty Moore
  11. Marcus Garratt
  12. James Gaskell (c)
  13. Jack Willis
  14. James Haskell
  15. Tom Willis
  16. Antonio (TJ) Harris
  17. Paul Doran-Jones
  18. Will Stuart
  19. Guy Borrowdale
  20. James Seabrook
  21. Will Porter
  22. Connor Eastgate
  23. Jacob Umaga

About Online Editor

This is my biography

Check Also

download (10)

Wasps team to play Harlequins at the Ricoh Arena

 Director of Rugby Dai Young has named the Wasps squad to face Harlequins at the ...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *